Here are the 82 artists participating in the Berlin Biennale 2022, curated by artist Kader Attia

The 12th Berlin Biennale, curated by artist Kader Attia, announced its list of participants today, just a week before the fair opens. The 82 international artists featured in the exhibition will address themes such as global capitalism and decolonialism.

Participants include Forensic Architecture, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Imani Jacqueline Brown, Roberto Crippa, Omer Fast, Basel Abbas and Ruanne Abou-Rahman, and Zuzanna Hertzberg, all of whose contributions stem from research into what the organizers call “action frantic and destructive of world capitalism”. race to production.

The exhibition, titled “Still Present!”, takes place at several venues in Berlin, including the Akademie der Künste, the Hamburger Bahnhof, the KW Institute of Contemporary Art and the headquarters of the Stasi.

“Since the beginning of modernity, our planet has undergone successive and ruinous changes which have accelerated in an alarming manner since the beginning of the third millennium”, we read in the text of the commissioner’s office. “The place where we have arrived today is no accident: it is the result of historical formations built over centuries.”

Exploring the wounds of a society deeply marked by inequality, the Biennale will address the many changes needed to reconceptualize the world according to more egalitarian values.

“In their selfishness, modern Western societies have taken their own liberal character for granted, mistakenly assuming that the balance between free trade and universal suffrage guarantees a self-regulating system of universal democratic values. The dystopian society from which we have inherited this utopian promise produces chaos but denies responsibility for it.

See the full list of artists below:

Alex Prager; Amal Kenawy; Ammar Bouras; Antonio Recalcati, Enrico Baj, Erró, Gianni Dova, Jean-Jacques Lebel, Roberto Crippa; Ariella Aïcha Azoulay; Asim Abdulaziz; Basel Abbas and Ruanne Abou-Rahme; Binta Diaw; Birender Yadav; Calida Garcia Rawles; Christine Safatly; Clement Cogitore; DAAR – Sandi Hilal and Alessandro Petti; Dana Levy; Dao Chau Hai; David Chavalarias; Deneth Piumakshi Veda Arachchige; Driss Ouadahi; Dubreus Lherisson; Elske Rosenfeld; Etinosa Yvonne; Florian Song Nguyễn; forensic architecture; Haig Aivazian; High Hasan Özgür; Imani Jacqueline Brown; Jean-Jacques Lebel; Jeneen Frei Njootli; Jihan El-Tahri; Joao Polido; Khandakar Ohida; Lamia Joreige; Lawrence Abu Hamdan; Layth Kareem; Mai Nguyễn-Long; Maithu Bui; Marta Popivoda/Ana Vujanovic; Mathieu Pernot; Mayuri Chari; Mila Turajlic; Monica de Miranda; Moses Marz; Myriam El Haik; Ngô Thành Bắc; Nil Yalter; Noel W Anderson; Olivier Marboeuf; Omer Fasting; PERU – Center for Exploration of Urban Resources; Prabhakar Kamble; Prane and Self; Raed Mutar; Sajjad Abbas; Sammy Baloji; Simone Fattal; Susan Schuppli; Susana Pilar; Sven Johne; Taloi Havini; Tammy Nguyen; Taysir Batniji; Tejswini Narayan Sonawane; Temitayo Ogunbiyi; The School of Mutants (Boris Raux, Hamedine Kane, Lou Mo, Stéphane Verlet Bottéro, Valérie Osouf); Thùy-Hân Nguyễn-Chí; Tuấn Andrew Nguyễn; Uriel Orlow; Yuyan Wang; Zach Blas; Zuzanna Herzberg.

Follow Artnet News on Facebook:

Want to stay one step ahead of the art world? Subscribe to our newsletter to receive breaking news, revealing interviews and incisive reviews that move the conversation forward.

Comments are closed.