Scholten and Bossman to run unopposed for Iowa House seats in Sioux City | Local News

SIOUX CITY — Former congressional candidate JD Scholten has a clear path to his first term in the Iowa Legislature.

Sioux City native JD Scholten said he’s running for Iowa House District 1 in 2022 because: He wants to give back to the city he loves.

Campaign photo courtesy of JD Scholten

“It’s official. I will be the only candidate for Iowa House District 1 on the November 8 ballot!!!” Scholten, a Democrat from Sioux City, tweeted on Saturday.

Iowa’s filing deadline for the 2022 election passed Saturday without any other candidates filing for the district, which encompasses parts of the west and north sides of Sioux City.

Under state law, local party leaders can organize special nominating commissions to fill vacancies in general election ballots that occur because no member of the respective party has run for office. primary elections in June.

The new House District 1 is similar to the district now represented by Democratic Representative Chris Hall, who has decided not to seek another term after more than a decade in office. Scholten, a former professional baseball player, came close to creating a major upset in his 2018 election debut, losing to Republican U.S. Rep. Steve King by just 3%. Scholten won the Democratic nomination for the state’s 4th congressional district in 2020, but lost handily to current Republican Rep. Randy Feenstra.

People also read…

A GOP candidate may have had a rocky climb against Scholten in Iowa House District 1 due to Scholten’s prolific fundraising and partisan makeup of the district, where Joe Biden got 53% of the vote in the 2020 presidential race.

Jacob Bossman


Conversely, local Democratic leaders failed to find a challenger for Republican Rep. Jacob Bossman in the Republican House of Learning District 13, which covers most of Sioux City’s Morningside neighborhood, as well as Sgt. Bluff and some rural areas of Woodbury County.

The only contested House race in Sioux City will be the new House District 2, where Democratic Rep. Steve Hansen faces a rematch from Republican Bob Henderson. Hansen won in the 2020 election, which marked his return to the state Legislature after an absence of nearly two decades.

In the new Senate District 1, Democratic Senator Jackie Smith of Sioux City faces a challenge from Republican Lawton Rocky De Witt, who currently sits on the Woodbury County Board of Supervisors.

Passing the brief on Saturday means several other candidates – all Republicans – will run unopposed for seats in the Legislative Assembly on Nov. 8. They understand :

  • Lynn Evans, R-Aurelia, in Senate District 3;
  • Sen. Dave Rowley, R-Spirit Lake, in Senate District 4;
  • Kevin Alons, R-Salix, in Senate District 5;
  • Rep. Tom Jeneary, R-Le Mars, in District 3 Home;
  • Rep. Skyler Wheeler, R-Orange City, in House District 4;
  • Zachary Dieken, R-Granville, in House District 5;
  • Rep. Steve Holt, R-Denison, in House District 12;

In three heavily Republican districts in northwest Iowa, there will be no Democratic candidates on the ballot, but one Libertarian or non-party candidate filed by Saturday’s deadline.

  • Sen. Jason Schultz, R-Schleswig, will be opposed by Libertarian David Davis of Harlan, Senate District 6.
  • Rep. John Willis, R-Spirit Lake, will face the challenge of non-party candidate Dan Wahl of Spirit Lake in House District 10.
  • Ken Carlson, R-Onawa, will be pitted against Libertarian Amy Janowski of Kingsley, House District 13.

Comments are closed.