Summit County Republicans select county caucus delegates

Summit County Colorado Republicans President Mike Tabb speaks during the group’s main caucus on Tuesday, March 1 at the Summit County Community and Senior Center.
Jenna deJong/Summit Daily News

On Tuesday, March 1, Summit County Colorado Republicans gathered at the Summit County Community and Senior Center to choose delegates to represent the group in non-presidential primary caucuses.

Because Summit County has a smaller population, the precinct and county caucuses were held on the same night, and in this case, less than an hour apart. As Summit County Republican Chairman Mike Tabb said, community members must have participated in precinct and county causes before they can move on and participate in other assemblies.

Those registered with the Republican Party on Feb. 7 were able to run for a delegate seat later that night at the county assembly.

During the meeting, 10 delegate seats were chosen to represent Summit County for the District 8 Senate Assembly and the District 13 House Assembly. The county gets 11 delegates for each, and additional seats for each include Tabb as Vice President of Senate District 8 and CJ Milmoe, Vice President of Summit County Colorado Republicans, who is President of the House district 13.

The county also gets 21 votes, or delegates, in the GOP state assembly and 22 votes, or delegates, in the District 2 assembly of Congress.

All of these events take place on April 8 and 9 in Colorado Springs. Additional community members will also be chosen in case one of these delegates cannot attend.

However, the group did not simply elect delegates to move on to other assemblies. The group also heard from other candidates running as Republicans for local and state offices. One of those participants was Kremmling resident David Buckley, who is running for House District 13. During his speech, Buckley said he owned a franchise business that was thriving when it was deemed non-essential at the height of the pandemic. He said his platform will focus on returning Colorado to a state of prosperity as it was before the virus.

“The reason (I’m now a Republican) is that this far left that’s coming to our country is getting out of hand, and we have to…get back to governing the economy, the agriculture, the way Colorado has prospered because it’s our history, and I want to make sure we preserve that,” Buckley said.

The group also heard from former Eagle City Councilman Matt Solomon, who is running for Senate District 8.. Solomon explained to the group how he would bring openness and transparency if elected.

“When I left city council, preparing for this, the first thing everyone said about me was, ‘We will miss Matt’s candor and his honesty,'” Solomon said. “I can guarantee you, as a senator, that you will get the same respect, the same candor and the same honesty from me. The other thing I did on city council that I want to apply here as a senator is that I operated at a level of transparency, consistency and predictability.

The only local candidate to speak and seek a nomination was Allen Bacher, treasurer of Summit County Republicans in Colorado. Although he did not originally plan to run for county commissioner in District 1, he said he did not want incumbent Elisabeth Lawrence to run unchallenged.

“I’m running to keep her honest and get her to spend money,” Bacher said. “If there’s a grace from God, I can beat it if I attract enough libertarians.”

One of the last to speak was Greater County Commissioner Rich Cimino, who is also running for Senate District 8.. Cimino said he wanted to focus on diminishing liberal influence in the state.

“We all know the liberal story: they say criminals are victims and the police are oppressors, and they’re wrong,” Cimino said. “Their policies have raised the cost of living and are killing jobs, especially in rural Colorado, and those policies are wrong.”

The Summit County Democratic caucus and assembly will be held at 2 p.m. Saturday, March 5 at Summit High School, where Democratic candidates will be nominated for the June 28 primary ballot.

Comments are closed.